Feeling Uplifted

blog-Feel;ing-Uplifted-600x600

I work hard to try to be present as much as possible. Do you know what I mean? It’s not  easy to leave the unrelenting stream of pressures, issues and thoughts that often clutter my mind, behind. It’s a struggle. What I try to strive for is to not let the persistent “static” or thoughts that have nothing to do with the very present moment interfere with the very present moment as often as possible. Make sense?

While I go about my day and try to keep all the metaphorical balls I’m juggling in the air, there are moments, here and there, that ground me. Yesterday morning it was a phrase in an audio book I’m listening to. It was so eloquently written, so image evoking that I had to temporarily turn off the CD and contemplate the words I had just heard.

Monday it was two people and a simple delivery that made me stop and appreciate the moment. We recently decided to enter the “Carton 2 Garden” contest, which means we need to start collecting as many milk and juice cartons on campus as possible and turn them into an innovative, sustainable garden creation.

DSC00358

Chris and Mr. Eddie brighten my doorstep on a Monday morning.

This post is not to describe the contest we’re entering, but merely a moment in time. It was Monday morning, and two bright faces lit from behind by the winter’s morning sun were the conduits for grounding me. More than grounding me really, making me stop and appreciate the moment I was experiencing, the space surrounding me and the people around me. They showed up on the greenhouse doorstep, two big garbage bags in hand, full of empty milk and juice cartons. Chris, a resident and member of the student council (the group I had enlisted to help kick-off the collection) had decided to start collecting on Sunday. Eddie, a long-time employee of Green Chimneys who just helps everything run smoothly, pitched in his efforts with the Monday morning breakfast. Together, they came to me with their offering and momentarily melted my heart.

It was the feeling of support that really got me. Adding another component to our program such as this contest is a bit overwhelming, and I’ve been debating in my mind whether it’s wise to take on this task and add another thing to “the list.” But these two gentlemen reminded me, I’m not alone in this effort. I am part of a community and the simple act of them showing up with kindness so obviously exuding from their hearts made me stop and recognize the authentic feeling of thankfulness their actions evoked. For me, this was a moment that brought me into the present, my mind making space and time to acknowledge what was playing out right before me.

About Green Chimneys Garden

Green Chimneys was founded on the belief that children will benefit from their interaction with nature and animals. Horticulture comes to life in our educational school gardens, allowing Green Chimneys students to heal, learn, and grow. Learn more about about our nature-based approach to special education by visiting www.greenchimneys.org
This entry was posted in Teacher Grows and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling Uplifted

  1. zmusashi says:

    It does sound uplifting! The spirit of cooperation is always wonderful.

  2. April Castoldi says:

    Inspiring! Thank you.

Leave a Comment

