Atypical Signs of Spring (I’ll take what I can get!)

The sun is bright today, and I can almost taste the vitamin D! Snow is not in the immediate forecast (though I have stopped listening), mountains of snow and talons of ice are actually starting to show signs of recession, I even saw a yellow jacket! While on a peaceful, much needed walk around campus, I was unable to find a budding branch or a green shoot to declare that spring is definitively in the air. Can you tell I’m totally over winter?

Seed delivery!

Seed delivery!

And there’s another sign of a new season: our seed order arrived! Spring must be near, right? Please humor me if you must. I’m going to take this special delivery as a definite indicator. Who knows, maybe it won’t be long before the first snowdrop (Galanthus nivalis) that we planted in the fall emerges from the white blanket covering our landscape. There are just so many things to look forward to: seeding and transplanting, building tepees and trellis’ for climbing plants, eating fresh food right from the source, watching  students buzz excitedly around the garden as nature unfolds in front of their very eyes. And most immediately, the warming up of daytime temperatures which signal the fact that we are right on the crest of maple syruping! Keep a look out for a post in the next two weeks highlighting students tapping trees, collecting sap, learning about the evaporator and enjoying maple tea. Mmmm, I can’t wait!

About Green Chimneys Garden

Green Chimneys was founded on the belief that children will benefit from their interaction with nature and animals. Horticulture comes to life in our educational school gardens, allowing Green Chimneys students to heal, learn, and grow. Learn more about about our nature-based approach to special education by visiting www.greenchimneys.org
This entry was posted in Teacher Grows and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Atypical Signs of Spring (I’ll take what I can get!)

  1. garden98110 says:

    The idea of a labyrinth or meditation circle is especially keen. We left a reponse to your question on pbmgarden, although it was not our question. What may be added is, with the proper permanent space and design, walkways of crushed rock on a porous bed are the least expensive and most safely accessible all season.

    Narrow stones inset (narrow enough to accommodate the wheels of a chair on either side), can be etched with the names of alumni, corporate sponsors, and healing thoughts. The center of the circle could contain a sun dial, because of the important scientific principles involved determining time from the sun’s shadow – and seasonal relation to the garden – but also as a historic reminder to the days before digital watches and cell time. — The Healing Garden gardener

  2. Diana says:

    Birds are singing & marking territories! Willow trees are getting a golden haze to them! And a, perhaps confused, moth flew in front of my headlights the other nite! Spring is coming, somewhat subtly, but it is definitely coming!

  3. deb says:

    The days are getting longer. The stores have Easter decorations out, if you count that.

    • We have a lot of ants in the greenhouse. We could either take this as a sign of Spring, or a sign of bad bug (like mealy) infestation. I think I’ll go with Spring!

      • garden98110 says:

        In this case, it sounds like the ground temperature is warming. This is a very interesting science experiment, measuring soil temperature at different depths. It I am not mistaken, some vegetables will grow in cold frames all Winter long in your neck of the woods. — THGg

      • Deb benge says:

        Saw a robin yesterday.

      • Yes, you’re right. Last fall we did some late season greens under hoops and agricultural cloth. Going forward I will definitely work more with extending the seasons.
        It’s funny that you mention measuring the ground temps. Since we are trying to keep a record of our worm bin temperatures, I broke out the soil thermometer (that I was suspect whether or not it worked). Anyway, after measuring the temperature of the bin to be about 68 degrees, I figured I’d better try a different source to test the validity of the reading. So, I stuck the thermometer in the ground outside the greenhouse and it immediately dropped to below 40. I was really just checking to make sure the tool worked, but I like your idea. We could collect data from different depths and areas over a period of time to see how quickly (or slowly) things change. Thanks for the idea!

      • garden98110 says:

        Well, the robins are out, in part I think, because the bugs are moving about and it’s dinner time! We here are learning about posting etiquettes. I will not post the link to my own blog. However, I have posted some considerations about soil temperature measurements under Amendments => Science Projects => Soil Temperature. I poked the probe of my compost thermometer through the toes of a wool sock (I do not have a thermometer wool cap and mittens) to help keep the ambient air temperature from affecting measurements. Not having a thermometer garter, either, I used adhesive tape to cinch the top of the sock below the base of the thermometer 🙂 During our most recent coldest snap, I measured the soil temperature to the depth of the roots of our new Edgeworthia Chrysantha to document habitat range. — THGg

Leave a Comment

